Gruppenleiterin

profile_image
Dr. Eirini Trompouki
Gruppenleiterin
Telefon:+49 761 5108 550

Labor Eirini Trompouki

Ausgewählte Publikationen

1.
Trompouki E (2015)
Fish provide ID(H)eas on targeting leukemia
2.
Lin MI, Price EN, Boatman S, Hagedorn EJ, Trompouki E, Satishchandran S, Carspecken CW, Uong A, DiBiase A, Yang S, Canver MC, Dahlberg A, Lu Z, Zhang CC, Orkin SH, Bernstein ID, Aster JC, White RM and Zon LI (2015)
Angiopoietin-like proteins stimulate HSPC development through interaction with notch receptor signaling
3.
Xu C, Fan ZP, Müller P, Fogley R, DiBiase A, Trompouki E, Unternaehrer J, Xiong F, Torregroza I, Evans T, Megason SG, Daley GQ, Schier AF, Young RA, Zon LI. (2012)
Nanog-like regulates endoderm formation through the Mxtx2-Nodal pathway
4.
Trompouki E, Bowman TV, Lawton LN, Fan ZP, Wu DC, DiBiase A, Martin CS, Cech JN, Sessa AK, Leblanc JL, Li P, Durand EM, Mosimann C, Heffner GC, Daley GQ, Paulson RF, Young RA, Zon LI (2011)
Lineage regulators direct BMP and Wnt pathways to cell-specific programs during differentiation and regeneration
5.
Trompouki E, Bowman TV, Dibiase A, Zhou Y, Zon LI (2011)
Chromatin immunoprecipitation in adult zebrafish red cells

Labor Eirni Trompouki

Labor Eirini Trompouki

Die Bildung von Blutzellen jedweder Art wird als Hämatopoese bezeichnet. Nur ausgesprochen wenige hämatopoetische Stammzellen (HSZ) sind dafür verantwortlich, die Balance zwischen unterschiedlichen Blutzell-Typen aufrechtzuhalten und das System im Falle von Stress, etwa durch Infektionen, Trauma oder Bestrahlung, wieder aufzufüllen. Extrazelluläre Signalwege liefern Informationen an die HSZ, welche durch spezifische Signal-Transkriptionsfaktoren in zelluläre Vorgänge übersetzt werden.

Uns interessieren insbesondere Entzündungsvorgänge, bei denen erst kürzlich gezeigt wurde, dass sie an der Stilllegung und Regeneration von HSZ beteiligt sind. Bislang war man davon ausgegangen, dass HSZ indirekt auf Entzündungssignale reagieren, lediglich, um hämatopoetische Zellen wieder aufzufüllen. Erst kürzlich wurde nachgewiesen, dass HSZ direkt Entzündungssignale wahrnehmen und darauf reagieren können; dies gilt nicht nur im Falle einer Infektion, sondern auch unter stabilen Bedingungen. Akute Entzündungssignale beeinflussen die Stilllegung von HSZ und eine chronische Belastung kann zur Erschöpfung von HSZ führen und so möglicherweise bösartige hämatopoetische Veränderungen verursachen.

Unter Verwendung der Modell-Organismen Zebrafisch und Maus möchten wir verstehen, wie diese Vorgänge das Abschalten von HSZ kontrollieren und wie sie die hämatopoetische Differenzierung und Regeneration beeinflussen. Wir interessieren uns in erster Linie dafür, wie Entzündungssignale die transkriptionelle Landkarte von HSZ modulieren. Das grundlegende Ziel ist es zu verstehen, wie wir hämatopoetische Stammzellen manipulieren können und die hämatopoetischen Ergebnisse während Stress und Krankheit verbessern können.

 
loading content

Group Leader

profile_image
Dr. Eirini Trompouki
Group Leader
Phone:+49 761 5108 550

Lab Eirini Trompouki

Selected Publications

1.
Trompouki E (2015)
Fish provide ID(H)eas on targeting leukemia
2.
Lin MI, Price EN, Boatman S, Hagedorn EJ, Trompouki E, Satishchandran S, Carspecken CW, Uong A, DiBiase A, Yang S, Canver MC, Dahlberg A, Lu Z, Zhang CC, Orkin SH, Bernstein ID, Aster JC, White RM and Zon LI (2015)
Angiopoietin-like proteins stimulate HSPC development through interaction with notch receptor signaling
3.
Xu C, Fan ZP, Müller P, Fogley R, DiBiase A, Trompouki E, Unternaehrer J, Xiong F, Torregroza I, Evans T, Megason SG, Daley GQ, Schier AF, Young RA, Zon LI. (2012)
Nanog-like regulates endoderm formation through the Mxtx2-Nodal pathway
4.
Trompouki E, Bowman TV, Lawton LN, Fan ZP, Wu DC, DiBiase A, Martin CS, Cech JN, Sessa AK, Leblanc JL, Li P, Durand EM, Mosimann C, Heffner GC, Daley GQ, Paulson RF, Young RA, Zon LI (2011)
Lineage regulators direct BMP and Wnt pathways to cell-specific programs during differentiation and regeneration
5.
Trompouki E, Bowman TV, Dibiase A, Zhou Y, Zon LI (2011)
Chromatin immunoprecipitation in adult zebrafish red cells

Laboratory Eirini Trompouki

Laboratory Eirni Trompouki

Hematopoiesis is the process of generating new cells of all the blood lineages. Exceedingly rare hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) are responsible for maintaining the balance between different blood lineages and replenishing the system in case of stress such as infection, trauma or irradiation. Signal transduction pathways continuously deliver information to the cells by mediating the actions of signaling transcription factors.

We are particularly interested in inflammatory pathways that have been recently implicated in HSC quiescence and regeneration. HSCs were thought to respond to inflammatory signals indirectly, just to replenish immune hematopoietic cells. Only lately, it has been proven that HSCs can directly sense and respond to inflammatory signals, not only in cases of infection but also under steady state conditions. Acute inflammatory signaling affects HSC quiescence and chronic exposure can lead to HSC exhaustion and may cause hematopoietic malignancies.

Using zebrafish and mice as model organisms we want to understand how these pathways control HSC quiescence, and affect hematopoietic differentiation and regeneration. We are mainly interested in studying how inflammatory signals formulate the transcriptional landscape of HSCs. The ultimate goal is to understand how we can manipulate hematopoietic stem cells and improve hematopoietic outcomes during stress and disease.

 
loading content