Gruppenleiter

Dr.  Dominic Grün
Dr. Dominic Grün
Gruppenleiter
Telefon:+49 761 5108-490
E-Mail:gruen@...

Labor Dominic Grün

Ausgewählte Publikationen

1.
Herman JS, Sagar, Grün D (2018)
FateID infers cell fate bias in multipotent progenitors from single-cell RNA-seq data
2.
Grün D*, Muraro MJ, Boisset JC, Wiebrands K, Lyubimova A, Dharmadhikari G, van den Born M, van Es J, Jansen E, Clevers H, de Koning EJ, van Oudenaarden A* (2016)
De Novo Prediction of Stem Cell Identity using Single-Cell Transcriptome Data
3.
Grün D., van Oudenaarden A. (2015)
Design and Analysis of Single-Cell Sequencing Experiments
4.
Grün D*, Lyubimova A*, Kester L, Wiebrands K, Basak O, Sasaki N, Clevers H, van Oudenaarden A (2015)
Single-cell messenger RNA sequencing reveals rare intestinal cell types
5.
Grün D*, Kester L*, and van Oudenaarden, A (2014)
Validation of noise models for single-cell transcriptomics
6.
Grün D*, Kirchner M*, Thierfelder N*, Stoeckius M, Selbach M, and Rajewsky N (2014)
Conservation of mRNA and protein expression during development of C. elegans

Labor Dominic Grün

Header image 1474018491

Labor Dominic Grün

Quantitative Einzelzellbiologie

Erhebliche Schwankungen der mRNA-Spiegel in Zellen des gleichen Typs sind in jedem bisher untersuchten Organismus beobachtet worden, von Bakterien und Hefen bis hin zu Säugetieren. Die Variabilität der Genexpression kann vielfältige Ursachen haben. Zum einen können extrinsische oder intrinsische Reize, beispielsweise aufgrund des Zellzyklus, metabolischer Schwankungen oder durch Differenzierungsereignisse, zu Transkriptomvariabilität zwischen Zellen führen. Darüberhinaus werden viele Gene vermutlich in Schüben anstatt mit einer konstanten Rate transkribiert, was zu wesentlichen Schwankungen der Transkriptzahlen in einzelnen Zellen führen kann, die gemeinhin als Genexpressionsrauschen bezeichnet werden. Genexpressionsvariabilität verursacht Schwankungen der Proteinspiegel und kann damit physiologische Unterschiede zwischen Zellen nach sich ziehen.

In einzelligen Organismen, wie Bakterien, Hefen und Viren wird das Genexpressionsrauschen ausgenutzt, um die Heterogenität der Population zu erhöhen und dadurch eine schnelle Anpassung an sich ändernde Umwelteinflüsse zu ermöglichen. In höheren Eukaryonten sind der Einfluss und die Regulation der Genexpressionsvariabilität nicht gut erforscht. Die Entwicklung eines mehrzelligen Organismus erfordert ein robustes Durchlaufen der Entwicklungsstadien mit räumlicher und zeitlicher Präzision. Obgleich die erforderlichen Zelldifferenzierungen eine koordinierte Änderung der mRNA-Spiegel in einzelnen Zellen erfordern, haben auch Gene in Säugetieren eine stark variierende, schubhafte Transkription. Das Ausmass des Genexpressionsrauschens in Säugerzellen ist vergleichbar mit einzelligen Systemen, d. h. mRNA-Spiegel unterscheiden sich häufig um mehr als das Zweifache zwischen Zellen des gleichen Typs. Allerdings sind die Rolle und die Regulation des Genexpressionsrauschens während der Zelldifferenzierung auf genomweiter Ebene weitgehend unerforscht.

<strong>Abb. 1</strong> Modell der Stammzelldifferenzierung. Eine multipotente Zelle wird durch ein Ensemble aus metastabilen Zuständen definiert. Übergänge zwischen diesen Zuständen sind möglich, bis sich eine Zelle als Antwort auf eine stochastische Genexpressionsschwankung oder ein externes Signal in einen terminalen Zelltyp differenziert. Bild vergrößern
Abb. 1 Modell der Stammzelldifferenzierung. Eine multipotente Zelle wird durch ein Ensemble aus metastabilen Zuständen definiert. Übergänge zwischen diesen Zuständen sind möglich, bis sich eine Zelle als Antwort auf eine stochastische Genexpressionsschwankung oder ein externes Signal in einen terminalen Zelltyp differenziert. [weniger]

In unserem Labor untersuchen wir, wie Stammzellen unter Einfluss von Genexpressionsrauschen ihren pluripotenten Zustand robust aufrechterhalten und zuverlässig Differenzierungsprogramme mit räumlicher und zeitlicher Präzision ausführen. Wir schlagen ein Modell vor, in dem Stammzellen in verschiedenen metastabilen Zuständen existieren können, die durch subtile Transkriptommodulationen, charakteristisch für verschiedene Zelltypen, gekennzeichnet sind. Während Übergänge zwischen diesen Zuständen im multipotenten Stadium möglich sind, kann ein momentaner Zustand durch zufällige Schwankungen oder Signalisierungsereignisse verstärkt werden, was die terminale Differenzierung der Zelle in den korrespondierenden Zelltyp zur Folge hat. Wir erforschen die molekularen Mechanismen, die den Übergang vom multipotenten Stadium, das durch Plastizität gekennzeichnet ist, zu einem Zustand mit fixiertem Zellschicksal kontrollieren. Wir legen einen besonderen Fokus auf die Rolle des Genexpressionsrauschens in diesem Prozess.

 

Regulation von Genexpression in der Zelldifferenzierung

Um zu verstehen, wie die Genexpression während der Differenzierung einer Stammzelle in alle ihre Tochterzelltypen reguliert wird, muss man in der Lage sein, verschiedene Zelltypen zu unterscheiden, wie sie beispielsweise in einem Gewebe oder in einem Organ auftreten. Eine etablierte Methode ist die Purifizierung von Subpopulationen von Zellen basierend auf nur einer Handvoll von Markergenen. Diese Vorauswahl bringt allerdings starke Einschränkungen für die Auflösung unterschiedlicher Zelltypen mit sich. Außerdem verbirgt die Messung der Genexpression in Zellpopulationen die tatsächliche Verteilung der mRNA-Spiegel in einzelnen Zellen.

<p><strong>Abb. 2</strong> Einzelzell-Transkriptom-Sequenzierung wird für zufällig ausgewählte Zellen aus einem Organ durchgeführt, um Zelltypen zu entdecken und Abstammungsbäume der Zelllinien abzuleiten. Mechanistische Modelle der Genregulation während der Differenzierung können auf Basis dieser Daten konzipiert werden.</p> Bild vergrößern

Abb. 2 Einzelzell-Transkriptom-Sequenzierung wird für zufällig ausgewählte Zellen aus einem Organ durchgeführt, um Zelltypen zu entdecken und Abstammungsbäume der Zelllinien abzuleiten. Mechanistische Modelle der Genregulation während der Differenzierung können auf Basis dieser Daten konzipiert werden.

[weniger]

Einzelzellmessungen, auf der anderen Seite, offenbaren eine Stichprobe aller Zelltypen in einer komplexen Mischung. Das Transkriptom einer Zelle kann als ein Fingerabdruck angesehen werden, der die Identität der Zelle enthüllt. Wir messen die mRNA-Spiegel aller Gene ebenso wie andere molekulare Charakteristika, z. B. Chromatinstuktur, DNA-Methylierung und genomische DNA, in einzelnen Zellen. Basierend auf diesen Daten werden in unserem Labor computergestützte Methoden zur Identifizierung von Zelltypen und zur Vorhersage von Differenzierungspfaden entwickelt. Das Ziel besteht darin, hochauflösende Abstammungsbäume der Zelllinien abzuleiten und die Dynamik der Genexpression während der zellulären Differenzierung zu verstehen. Wir sind insbesondere daran interessiert, seltene Zelltypen zu identifizieren, da diese sehr schwer zu finden sind und oftmals eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Beispielsweise haben Stammzellen häufig einen sehr geringen Anteil an der Gesamtpopulation.

Dieser Ansatz wird es uns ermöglichen, Abstammungsbäume für Zelllinien de novo abzuleiten und aktuelle Modelle für die Zelldifferenzierung in gut untersuchten Systemen, wie beispielsweise dem Knochenmark, zu überprüfen. Darüberhinaus können Markergene für Zelltypen und -zustände mit hoher Genauigkeit identifiziert werden und somit die Purifizierung dieser Zellen gestatten. Diese Subpopulationen können dann mit klassischen populationsbasierten molekularbiologischen Methoden untersucht werden, um epigenetische Modifikationen der DNA und Transkriptionsfaktorbindungsstellen zu messen. Das ultimative Ziel ist die Ableitung mechanistischer Modelle der Genregulation während der Differenzierung, indem wir diese populationsbasierten Messungen mit den Einzelzell-Genexpressionsdaten kombinieren.

Wir versuchen auch, die Auswirkungen der Mikroumgebung einer Zelle durch eine hochauflösende räumliche Genexpressionsanalyse zu erhellen. Zu diesem Zweck verwenden wir räumliche Transkriptomik und bildgebende Analyse.

 

Die Rolle des biologischen Genexpressionsrauschen während der Zelldifferenzierung

Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt des Labors liegt in der Erforschung der Bedeutung von Genexpressionsvariabilität während der Differenzierung. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass die Transkription von Genen oftmals kein kontinuierlicher Prozess ist, sondern in Schüben auftritt. Dies hat erhebliche Schwankungen der mRNA-Spiegel von Zelle zu Zelle zur Folge, und die Rolle dieses sogenannten biologischen Genexpressionsrauschens während der Zelldifferenzierung ist weitgehend unverstanden.

Bei der Zelldifferenzierung sollte es sich um einen robusten Vorgang handeln, der sich mit räumlicher und zeitlicher Präzision vollzieht. Daher ist es wahrscheinlich, dass Mechanismen zur Kontrolle aber auch zur Nutzung des Genexpressionsrauschens existieren. Mittels der Transkriptommessung in einzelnen Zellen in Verbindung mit populationsbasierten Methoden zur Untersuchung epigenetischer Modifikationen und von Transkriptionsfaktorbindestellen versuchen wir die Dynamik des Genexpressionsrauschens während der Zelldifferenzierung zu messen. Das Ziel ist es, ein tieferes Verständnis der Mechanismen zu erlangen, durch die das Genexpressionsrauschen reguliert wird.

<p><strong>Abb. 3</strong> Die Transkription eines Gens erfolgt in Schüben, was zu erheblichen Schwankungen der mRNA-Spiegel von Zelle zu Zelle führt. Diese Variabilität kann mit Einzelzellsequenzierung oder mit bildgebenden Verfahren untersucht werden.Ziel ist die Ableitung von Modellen für die Regulierung des Genexpressionsrauschens.</p> Bild vergrößern

Abb. 3 Die Transkription eines Gens erfolgt in Schüben, was zu erheblichen Schwankungen der mRNA-Spiegel von Zelle zu Zelle führt. Diese Variabilität kann mit Einzelzellsequenzierung oder mit bildgebenden Verfahren untersucht werden.Ziel ist die Ableitung von Modellen für die Regulierung des Genexpressionsrauschens.

[weniger]

Da Einzelzell-Sequenzierung nur eine begrenzte Sensitivität hat, verwenden wir ergänzend mikroskopische Verfahren zur Visualisierung einzelner mRNA Moleküle in der Zelle (single molecule fluorescent in situ hybridization). Diese Methode erlaubt es, die Genexpressionsvariabilität für einzelne Gene mit minimalem technischen Rauschen und hoher Empfindlichkeit zu untersuchen.

 

 

 

 
Zur Redakteursansicht
loading content

Group Leader

profile_image
Dr. Dominic Grün
Group Leader
Phone:+49 761 5108 490
Email:gruen@...

Lab Dominic Grün

Selected Publications

1.
Grün D*, Muraro MJ, Boisset JC, Wiebrands K, Lyubimova A, Dharmadhikari G, van den Born M, van Es J, Jansen E, Clevers H, de Koning EJ, van Oudenaarden A* (2016)
De Novo Prediction of Stem Cell Identity using Single-Cell Transcriptome Data
2.
Grün D, van Oudenaarden A (2015)
Design and Analysis of Single-Cell Sequencing Experiments
3.
Grün D*, Lyubimova A*, Kester L, Wiebrands K, Basak O, Sasaki N, Clevers H, van Oudenaarden A (2015)
Single-cell messenger RNA sequencing reveals rare intestinal cell types
4.
Grün D*, Kester L*, and van Oudenaarden, A (2014)
Validation of noise models for single-cell transcriptomics
5.
Grün D*, Kirchner M*, Thierfelder N*, Stoeckius M, Selbach M, and Rajewsky N (2014)
Conservation of mRNA and protein expression during development of C. elegans

Laboratory Dominic Grün

Laboratory Dominic Grün

 

Quantitative single cell biology

Substantial variability of mRNA levels across cells of the same type has been observed in any organism studied, ranging from bacteria and yeast to mammals. Gene expression variability can have diverse origins. Heterogeneity of cell states following extrinsic or intrinsic stimuli, e. g., due to cell cycle, changes in the microenvironment or differentiation events, can be one reason for cell-to-cell transcriptome differences. Moreover, many genes are presumably transcribed in bursts rather than at a constant rate, leading to substantially different transcript numbers in individual cells, commonly addressed as gene expression noise. Gene expression variability causes fluctuations in protein levels, and can entail physiological differences between cells.

In unicellular organisms, such as bacteria, yeast, and viruses, gene expression noise is utilized to increase heterogeneity of the population, permitting quick adjustment to fluctuating environments. In higher eukaryotes, the relevance and the regulation of gene expression noise are much less explored. Development of a multicellular organism requires robust execution of developmental transitions with spatial and temporal precision. Although the required cell differentiation events rely on coordinate execution of gene expression changes, mammalian genes have been found to exhibit strongly varying bursting kinetics. The magnitude of gene expression noise in mammalian cells is comparable to unicellular systems, i.e., mRNA levels frequently differ more than twofold between identical cells. However, the role of gene expression noise and its regulation during cellular differentiation on a genome-wide level are largely unexplored.

<strong>Fig. 1</strong> Model of stem cell differentiation. A multipotent cell is defined as an ensemble of metastable states. Transitions between these states are possible, until a cell commits to a terminal fate in response to a stochastic gene expression fluctuation or an external signal. Zoom Image
Fig. 1 Model of stem cell differentiation. A multipotent cell is defined as an ensemble of metastable states. Transitions between these states are possible, until a cell commits to a terminal fate in response to a stochastic gene expression fluctuation or an external signal. [less]

In our lab we investigate how stem cells robustly maintain their pluripotent state and reliably execute differentiation programs with spatial and temporal precision in the presence of gene expression noise. We propose a model in which stem cells can exist in different metastable states, which are primed towards distinct lineages by subtle transcriptome modulations. While transitions between these stages are possible in the multipotent state, reinforcement of a primed state by random fluctuations or signaling events drives the cell into terminal differentiation. We explore the molecular mechanisms underpinning the transition from a multipotent state, exhibiting plasticity, to a lineage-restricted committed state. We have a particular focus on the role of gene expression noise in this process.

Regulation of gene expression during cellular differentiation

To understand how gene expression is regulated during differentiation of a stem cell into all its daughter cell types one has to be able to discriminate distinct cell types and states in a complex mixture, such as a tissue or an organ. The established approach is profiling sub-populations of cells purified based on only a handful of marker genes. This pre-selection imposes strong constraints on the resolution of cell types. Moreover, measuring gene expression in populations of cells masks the true distribution of gene expression levels across cells.

<p><strong>Fig. 2</strong> Single cell mRNA sequencing is performed on randomly sampled cells from an organ to discover cell types and infer lineage trees. Mechanistic models of gene regulation during differentiation can be derived from these data.</p> Zoom Image

Fig. 2 Single cell mRNA sequencing is performed on randomly sampled cells from an organ to discover cell types and infer lineage trees. Mechanistic models of gene regulation during differentiation can be derived from these data.

[less]

Single cell profiling, on the other hand, reveals an unbiased sample of all cell types in a complex mixture. The transcriptome of a cell can be looked at as a fingerprint revealing its identity. We use single cell mRNA sequencing to investigate the transcriptome and other molecular readouts such as chromatin accessibility, DNA methylation, and genomic DNA. Our lab develops computational methods to infer cell types and differentiation trajectories from these data with the goal to derive high-resolution lineage trees and to understand dynamics of gene expression during cellular differentiation. We are particularly interested in rare cell types, since those are oftentimes overlooked and can have crucial functions. For example, the stem cells themselves often occur at low frequencies.

Our strategy will allow us to derive lineage trees de novo and to revise current models for cell differentiation in well-studied systems, such as the bone marrow. Moreover, marker genes for cell types and states can be identified with high specificity, which permits the purification of these cells and subsequent population based assays, e. g. ChiP-seq, to measure epigenetic marks and transcription factor binding. The ultimate goal is the derivation of a mechanistic model of gene regulation during differentiation by combining these population-based measurements with single cell gene expression data.

We are also attempting to elucidate the impact of a cells’ microenvironment by high-resolution spatial gene expression analysis. To this end, we employ spatial transcriptomics and imaging based analysis.

 
 

The role of biological gene expression noise during cellular differentiation

A specific focus of the lab is on the role of gene expression variability across single cells during differentiation. It has been shown that transcription is frequently not a continuous process but happens in bursts. This induces substantial cell-to-cell variability of mRNA levels, and the role of this so-called biological noise during cellular differentiation is not well understood.

Differentiation has to be a robust process with spatial and temporal precision and mechanisms for the control and utilization of gene expression noise are likely to exist.

<strong>Fig. 3</strong> Genes can be transcribed in bursts leading to substantial variability across cells. This variability can be investigated with single cell sequencing or imaging based techniques to derive models for the regulation of gene expression noise. Zoom Image
Fig. 3 Genes can be transcribed in bursts leading to substantial variability across cells. This variability can be investigated with single cell sequencing or imaging based techniques to derive models for the regulation of gene expression noise. [less]

Using single cell transcriptomics in conjunction with population based assays we try to elucidate how biological gene expression noise changes during differentiation and how it is mechanistically regulated. Since single cell sequencing still suffers from substantial technical noise we also utilize microscopic imaging of individual mRNAs in single cells (single molecule FISH) to investigate gene expression variability with high specificity and sensitivity.

 

 

 
loading content