Gruppenleiter

profile_image
em. Prof. Dr. Rolf Kemler
Senior-Gruppenleiter
Telefon:+49 761 5108 471
E-Mail:kemler@...

Labor Rolf Kemler

Ausgewählte Publikationen

1.
Yakulov T, Raggioli A, Franz H, Kemler R. (2013)
Wnt3a-dependent and -independent Protein Interaction Networks of Chromatin-bound β-catenin in Mouse Embryonic Stem Cells.
2.
del Valle I, Rudloff S, Carles A, Li Y, Liszewska E, Vogt R, Kemler R. (2013)
E-cadherin is required for the proper activation of the Lifr/Gp130 signaling pathway in mouse embryonic stem cells.
3.
Rudloff S, Kemler R. (2012)
Differential requirements for β-catenin during mouse development.
4.
Hoffmeyer K, Raggioli A, Rudloff S, Anton R, Hierholzer A, Del Valle I, Hein K, Vogt R, Kemler R. (2012)
Wnt/β-catenin signaling regulates telomerase in stem cells and cancer cells.

Emeritus Labor Rolf Kemler

Emeritus Labor Rolf Kemler

Embryogenese basiert auf dem präzisen Zusammenspiel von Signalkaskaden, um gewebespezifische Differenzierungsprogramme zu aktivieren. Ein zentraler Mitspieler in diesen morphogenetischen Prozessen ist ß-Catenin. Dieses ist sowohl bei der Cadherin-vermittelten Zell-Adhäsion als auch im kanonischen Wnt-Signalweg ein zentraler Bestandteil.

Die zweifache Rolle von ß-Catenin sowohl in der Cadherin-vermittelten Adhäsion als auch als nachgeschalteter Effektor des Wnt-Signalwegs wird durch eine Kombination aus in-vitro- und in-vivo-Studien untersucht.  Wir haben ß-Catenin aus der gesamten posterioren Region eines Embryos konditionell nach Gastrulation entfernt. Zusätzlich dazu entschlüsseln wir die Adhäsions- und Signalfunktion von ß-Catenin vor und während der Gastrulation. Dafür ersetzen wir das Wildtyp-Protein konditionell mit mutierten Isoformen, die in bestimmten molekularen Wechselwirkungen und Funktionen gehemmt sind. Dafür haben wir verschiedene embryonale Stammzell-Linien mit vordefiniertem Genotyp für E-Cadherin und ß-Catenin isoliert.

Einfluss von ß-Catenin Bild vergrößern
Einfluss von ß-Catenin

Wir fanden heraus, dass ß-Catenin benötigt wird, um die genomische Stabilität in embryonalen Stammzellen (ESCs) bei Mäusen zu erhalten. Außerdem wiesen wir eine molekulare Verbindung zwischen dem Wnt/ß-Catenin-Signalweg und der Expression der Telomerase-Untereinheit Tert nach. ß-Catenin-defiziente Maus-ESCs haben verkürzte Telomere; lange Telomere haben dagegen solche ESCs, die eine aktivierte Form von ß-Catenin (ß-cat-delEx3/+) besitzen. Wir zeigen, dass ß-Catenin die Tert-Expression über eine Wechselwirkung mit Klf4 reguliert. Klf4 ist ein zentraler Bestandteil des Pluripotenz-Transkriptions-Netzwerks. Im Darmkrebs-Modell in der Maus und in humanen Krebszellen bindet ß-Catenin an den Tert-Promotor. Damit haben wir eine bislang unbekannte Verbindung zwischen Stammzellen und onkogenem Potential aufgedeckt. ß-Catenin reguliert die Tert-Expression und dadurch die Telomerlänge. Dies könnte ein bedeutender Faktor in der Regenerations- und Krebstherapie beim Menschen sein.

 
loading content

Group Leader

profile_image
em. Prof. Dr. Rolf Kemler
Senior Group Leader
Phone:+49 761 5108 471

Selected Publications

1.
Yakulov T, Raggioli A, Franz H, Kemler R. (2013)
Wnt3a-dependent and -independent Protein Interaction Networks of Chromatin-bound β-catenin in Mouse Embryonic Stem Cells.
2.
del Valle I, Rudloff S, Carles A, Li Y, Liszewska E, Vogt R, Kemler R. (2013)
E-cadherin is required for the proper activation of the Lifr/Gp130 signaling pathway in mouse embryonic stem cells.
3.
Rudloff S, Kemler R. (2012)
Differential requirements for β-catenin during mouse development.
4.
Hoffmeyer K, Raggioli A, Rudloff S, Anton R, Hierholzer A, Del Valle I, Hein K, Vogt R, Kemler R. (2012)
Wnt/β-catenin signaling regulates telomerase in stem cells and cancer cells.

Emeritus Laboratory Rolf Kemler

Emeritus Laboratory Rolf Kemler

Embryogenesis relies on the precise interplay of signaling cascades to activate tissue-specific differentiation programs. An important player in these morphogenetic processes is ß-catenin, which is a central component of both the cadherin-mediated cell adhesion and the canonical Wnt signaling pathway.

The dual role of ß-catenin in cadherin-mediated adhesion and as the downstream effector of the canonical Wnt signaling pathway is addressed by combining in-vitro and in-vivo analysis. We conditionally deleted ß-catenin from the entire posterior region of the embryo after gastrulation. In addition, we are dissecting the adhesive and signaling functions of ß-catenin prior to and throughout gastrulation by conditionally replacing the wild type protein with mutant isoforms impaired in specific molecular interactions and functions. We have isolated several ES cell lines with pre-determined genotypes for E-cadherin and ß-catenin.

Influence of ß-Catenin Zoom Image
Influence of ß-Catenin

We found that ß-catenin is required to maintain genomic stability in mouse ES cells. Additionally we report a molecular link between Wnt/ß-catenin signaling and the expression of the telomerase subunit Tert. ß-catenin–deficient mouse embryonic stem (ES) cells have short telomeres; conversely, ES cells expressing an activated form of ß-catenin (ß-cat-delEx3/+) have long telomeres. We show that ß-catenin regulates Tert expression through the interaction with Klf4, a core component of the pluripotency transcriptional network. ß-catenin binds to the Tert promoter in a mouse intestinal tumor model and in human carcinoma cells. We uncover a previously unknown link between the stem cell and oncogenic potential whereby ß-catenin regulates Tert expression, and thereby telomere length, which could be critical in human regenerative therapy and cancer.

 
loading content