Einheit für Mikroskopie

Einheit für Mikroskopie

Die Einheit für Mikroskopie unterhält einen vielfältigen Bestand an modernsten Lichtmikroskopen und Software, mit denen Bilder von verschiedenen lebenden und unbeweglichen Objekten von aufgenommen und analysiert werden können, von hochauflösender Mikroskopie mit Verfahren, die in der Lage sind, unterhalb der Beugungsgrenze aufzulösen („Super-resolution“) bis hin zum Maßstab ganzer Organe. Die Einheit bietet darüber hinaus Schulungen und Beratung zur Probenvorbereitung, zum Betrieb der Mikroskope und zur Bildanalyse an und beteiligt sich an der Entwicklung von Methoden.

Warum Fluoreszenzmikroskopie?

Dank enormer Fortschritte bei Instrumenten, Software und molekularen„Werkzeugen“  wie genetisch kodierte Fluorophore, Ionensensoren und vieles Weiter hat sich die Fluoreszenzmikroskopie zu einer wichtigen, „eigenständigen“ Technologie in den modernen Biowissenschaften gemausert. Mit der Fluoreszenzmikroskopie kann fast jede Struktur von Interesse gezielt sichtbar gemacht werden. Darüberhinaus können Details, die kleiner sind als die von der konventionellen Optik gesetzten Grenzen, können durch kürzlich entwickelte „Super-Resolution“-Techniken sichtbar gemacht werden. In vielen Fällen sind dynamische, nicht invasive Beobachtungen von lebenden Objekten möglich und   quantitative Daten können extrahiert werden, einschließlich Informationen über Konzentration, spezifische Wechselwirkungen und Mobilität der interessierenden Moleküle.

Überblick über die Imaging-Einrichtungen

In der Einheit für Mikroskopie am MPI-IE stehen 10 hochmoderne Lichtmikroskope sowie umfangreiches Zubehör und Bildverarbeitungswerkzeuge zur Verfügung. Die Instrumente ermöglichen die Aufnahme von Bildern in einem Maßstab, der von „Superauflösung“ (<100 Nanometer) bis zu kompletten Organen (wenige Millimeter) reicht.

Wir unterstützen über 80 aktive Nutzer:innen des MPI-IE bei der Bildaufnahme und -analyse. Neben routinemäßigen Einzelschulungen zur Nutzung von Mikroskopen und Bildanalyseprogrammen vermittelt wir in Seminaren, Kursen und anderen Veranstaltungen umfangreiches Wissen über Mikroskopietechniken und relevante Anwendungen, z. B. in Form von theoretischen und praktischen Schulungen zur Benutzung der Lichtmikroskopie für Promovierende im Rahmen des IMPRS-Programms. Auch organisieren wir Vorführungen und Versuche mit neuer Mikroskopie-Software und -Hardware am MPI-IE.

Die Einheit für Mikroskopie steht in regem Austausch mit anderen Fachgesellschaften in Deutschland und Europa. Das MPI-IE ist Mitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Bioimaging und Bildanalyse, dem Max Planck BioImaging Core Units Network und der Microscopy and Image Analysis Platform (MIAP), einem regionalen und trinationalen Netzwerk für die wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur von bildgebenden Einrichtungen in den Lebenswissenschaften. Die Mitgliedschaften in diesen Netzwerken geben den Nutzer:innen unserer Facility den Zugang zu einem breiten Arsenal an Spitzentechnologien, die vor Ort nicht verfügbar sind. Darüber hinaus ermöglichen diese Netzwerke den Austausch von Fachwissen zwischen den Imaging Core Facilities verschiedener Einrichtungen und Wissenschaftler:innen, die Methoden für die Mikroskopie und Bildanalyse entwickeln. Sie zudem Zugang zu Schulungen und Workshops von führenden Experten.

Weitere Informationen zu den Technologien und Services der Einheit für Mikroskopie finden Sie auf der englischsprachigen Webseite.


Ausgewählte Publikationen

1.
Avilov SV (2021)
Navigating across multi-dimensional space of tissue clearing parameters.
Methods and Applications in Fluorescence 9(2):022001.
2.
Sheikh BN, Guhathakurta S, Tsang TH, Schwabenland M, Renschler G, Herquel B, Bhardwaj V, Holz H, Stehle T, Bondareva O, Aizarani N, Mossad O, Kretz O, Reichardt W, Chatterjee A, Braun LJ, Thevenon J, Sartelet H, Blank T, Grün D, von Elverfeldt D, Huber TB, Vestweber D, Avilov S, Prinz M, Buescher JM and Akhtar A (2020)
Neural metabolic imbalance induced by MOF dysfunction triggers pericyte activation and breakdown of vasculature
Nature Cell Biology 22(7), 828-841.
3.
Jevtic V, Kindle P, Avilov S (2018)
SYBR Gold dye enables preferential labelling of mitochondrial nucleoids and their time-lapse imaging by structured illumination microscopy.
PLoS ONE 13(9), e0203956. 
4.
Avilov S, Aleksandrova N (2018)
Fluorescence protein complementation in microscopy: Applications beyond detecting bi-molecular interactions
Methods and Applications in Fluorescence 7(1), 012001.
5.
Ferrando-May E, Hartmann H, Reymann J, Ansari N, Utz N, Fried HU, Kukat C, Peychl J, Liebig C, Terjung S, Laketa V, Sporbert A, Weidtkamp-Peters S, Schauss A, Zuschratter W, Avilov S; German BioImaging network (2016)
Advanced light microscopy core facilities: Balancing service, science and career
Microscopy Research & Technique 79(6), 463-79.
Zur Redakteursansicht

Imaging Facility

Imaging Facility

The Imaging Facility maintains a diverse park of advanced light microscopes and software, which permits to acquire and analyze images of various live and fixed objects of interest, from sub-diffraction (“super-resolution”) to whole-organ scales. Imaging Facility provides training and advice on sample preparation, operation of microscopes and image analysis, and participates in method development.

Why fluorescence microscopy?

Thanks to the tremendous progress in instrumentation, software, and molecular “tools” (genetically encoded fluorophores, ion sensors etc.), fluorescence microscopy has become a key “stand-alone” technology in modern life sciences. Fluorescence microscopy can be used to specifically visualize almost any structure of interest. Details smaller than the limits imposed by conventional optics can be visualized by recently developed “super-resolution” techniques. In many cases, dynamic non-invasive observations of live objects are possible, and quantitative data can be extracted, including information on concentration, specific interactions and mobility of the molecules of interest.

Overview

10 advanced light microscopes are available at the Imaging Facility, as well as accessory equipment and image processing tools. The instruments permit image acquisition at the scales ranging from “super-resolution” (<100 nanometers) to whole organ (few millimeters).

We support over 80 active users from MPI-IE in image acquisition and analysis. Besides routine individual training sessions on the usage of microscopes and image analysis programs, the Imaging Facility spreads knowledge on microscopy techniques and relevant applications at the seminars, courses and other events, for instance, providing theoretical and practical training in light microscopy for PhD students within the IMPRS program of the Max Planck Society. We organize demonstrations and trials of novel microscopy software and hardware at the MPI-IE.

The Imaging Facility interacts extensively with other microscopy communities throughout Germany and Europe. It is a member of the German Society for Bioimaging and Image Analysis, Max Planck BioImaging Core Units Network and Microscopy and Image Analysis Platform (MIAP), the regional tri-national network for scientific infrastructure of imaging-based life science sites). Participation in these networks gives MPI-IE members access to a wide arsenal of cutting technologies which are not available in-house, Furthermore, these networks facilitate exchange of expertise between core facilities and scientists who develop methods for microscopy and image analysis, and provide access to training and workshops by leading experts in these areas.


Selected Publications

1.
Avilov SV (2021)
Navigating across multi-dimensional space of tissue clearing parameters.
Methods and Applications in Fluorescence 9(2):022001.
2.
Sheikh BN, Guhathakurta S, Tsang TH, Schwabenland M, Renschler G, Herquel B, Bhardwaj V, Holz H, Stehle T, Bondareva O, Aizarani N, Mossad O, Kretz O, Reichardt W, Chatterjee A, Braun LJ, Thevenon J, Sartelet H, Blank T, Grün D, von Elverfeldt D, Huber TB, Vestweber D, Avilov S, Prinz M, Buescher JM and Akhtar A (2020)
Neural metabolic imbalance induced by MOF dysfunction triggers pericyte activation and breakdown of vasculature
Nature Cell Biology 22(7), 828-841.
3.
Avilov S, Aleksandrova N (2018)
Fluorescence protein complementation in microscopy: Applications beyond detecting bi-molecular interactions
Methods and Applications in Fluorescence 7(1), 012001.
4.
Jevtic V, Kindle P, Avilov S (2018)
SYBR Gold dye enables preferential labelling of mitochondrial nucleoids and their time-lapse imaging by structured illumination microscopy.
PLoS ONE 13(9), e0203956. 
5.
Ferrando-May E, Hartmann H, Reymann J, Ansari N, Utz N, Fried HU, Kukat C, Peychl J, Liebig C, Terjung S, Laketa V, Sporbert A, Weidtkamp-Peters S, Schauss A, Zuschratter W, Avilov S; German BioImaging network (2016)
Advanced light microscopy core facilities: Balancing service, science and career
Microscopy Research & Technique 79(6), 463-79.
Go to Editor View